A Torrid Week

It’s Friday night, the end of a long, hot week. I’ve been broiled alive at work in Bisbee and beat up by bloggers worldwide. My back hurts and I have a headache. I’m going to bed but start thinking about a recent chat with an acquaintance involved in animal rescue. She was mentioning how overly-sensitive to animal abuse issues she is. Me too, I say.

Now whenever this subject comes up among animal lovers, it’s only a matter of minutes until somebody mentions how hard they cry at that animal shelter video with the Sarah McLachlan song. So I start thinking about the video. We gave up cable TV nearly two years ago but I remember the ad. No, don’t think about it. I remember how I had to mute the volume when that ad came on. Stop thinking about it. So I look it up on YouTube and find a couple of versions. I pick one and click play.

I’ve just had a serious wail by my preferred method, alone. Sometimes you don’t want to talk about it. You don’t want sympathy or a hug. That video only takes a few seconds to work. I don’t recommend this video to any angel who has rescued an animal unless you know what you’re in for. (How did they make that video? Did some advertising people have a meeting to present their ideas and they picked the one that made everybody in the room sob the hardest?)

Time to move on. I learned some stuff this week. It’s when you stop being a work in progress that you should worry.

3 responses to “A Torrid Week

  1. Those that mistreat animals are fascists. They’ve been around a long time and they are cruel. I’ll leave therapists and psychologists to work with them. For my part, I’ll physically and legally intervene against abuse and I’ll protect animals and sagebrush and creosote for as long as I have breath in me. I’ll not be embracing or sitting down at any table with those that mistreat animals and gouge the earth. If not now, when?

    P.S. E-mail me the blogsites that have raked you over the coals. Please.

    (Jack Matthews, Sage to Meadow and Swallow Hill)

  2. I hate abusers, hate them. I’m on a break from active animal rescue right now. I had no choice, it was destroying me. Is that selfish? I have a lot of guilt about it. I’ve been active all my life until last summer when I worked at the pound here and spent every day crying and fighting with the “humane officer” (what a joke) and town officials about conditions there. They put ferals in cages and leave them there to rot. You have 3 choices with ferals: let them go, fix them and let them go, or put them down. He puts feral mother cats in cages who are so full of hatred and fear of humans that they let their babies die. What kind of monster stands by and watches that? I got badly bitten by a feral I was trying to get fixed (at my own expense because they won’t) and ended up in the hospital for two days with blood poisoning. I waited overnight to go to the hospital (I went and cleaned a house like an idiot. The next morning my hand looked like a boxing glove and I had a red stripe all the way up my arm.) After that, I went to the mayor, the town manager, and the police chief. Oh they’re all full of kind words and sympathy, but nobody in power would help. Nobody gives a shit about some stray dog or cat in a town like this where it’s easy to hide evil. OK I’m getting off the subject here. Don’t watch the video Jack. E-mail time.

  3. It is not selfish at all to step away when you need to. The problem is that there are not enough people who care about animals enough to help, so the ones like us who do, get burnt out easily. It is better to step back before being so burnt out you never help again! I know what you mean about crying at those commercials and videos, oh, man, I feel like it is physically tearing out my heart sometimes to see those poor animals suffer so bad! My three furbabies right now are all rescues, 2 from shelters and 1 snatched right from the hands of an abuser. When I volunteered at the shelter I wanted to take every single one of them home. At the same time, I know that I can’t take them all home as much as I would love to, it isn’t fair to them either when conditions get too overcrowded, or I can’t keep it clean or afford to take care of them. Hording is just as bad. Anyway, this will quickly turn into a long ramble if I don’t stop! I love animals and people who loves animals are always good people.

Leave a Reply

