The Week in My World 12/28/10

There’s so much hate out there for America that we have to be careful what we say. I would never rant on someone’s blog from another country how loathsome their nation is, but I see a lot of open criticism and ridicule of Americans by bloggers worldwide. It’s only America, slam away.

I’m sensitive about it because the stereotype they scorn isn’t me or anybody in my circle. I’m not fat, not stupid, not racist. Not obsessed with TV shows, social media, gadgets, the size of my boobs, or food–either junk food or health food. There are millions of us, we’re just not as loud and obnoxious as the owners of  the lifestyles which get broadcast to the world and form the basis of false representation. And we seem to buy into it. Is this some kind of self-fulfilling prophecy? We suck, therefore we suck? Am I now required to assume my share of responsibility for America being fat and stupid?

Should we bail? I might consider making one more move in my life, but it would have to be somewhere pretty exceptional to drag me from Arizona. And anyway who’d have us? Best to stay here and work on self-respect.

Beautiful lighting on my street on the evening of the lunar eclipse

A raft of rooftops in Old Bisbee

Some consider the desert broom a weed, others love it. They are hard to kill if you don't want them in your yard. But they're everywhere, and lovely in all seasons. Through the winter they soften the landscape with their cottony seed puffs.

I'll let you judge this for yourself

Maxi goes to Home Depot. We have septic tank issues, so we finally bought a drain-opening machine so we can fix it ourselves. Disgusting but critical work.

It annoys me just as much when Spanish words are misspelled, especially on a street sign. This should be 'esperanza', which means 'hope.'

Beautiful sunset right before Christmas

Nearby third-world neighborhood. There's no excuse to not clean this up.

Car of the week: a pretty 1962 (I think) Dodge pickup, owned by a local landscaper. There are many old cars on the road here because we don't have rust. We literally burn through tires though.

2 responses to “The Week in My World 12/28/10

  1. “I would never rant on someone’s blog from another country how loathsome their nation is, but I see a lot of open criticism and ridicule of Americans by bloggers worldwide.”

    It is not just the bloggers, we now have a sitting President and his wife that have done the same thing from their positions of power.

Leave a Reply

