Foster Cat of the Week, Bisbee AZ

______________________________________________________
       My friend Janice rescued two beautiful starving dogs from a foreclosed house in in April (see Collateral Damage) .  A very nice woman from Tucson saw the pictures and is coming next week to meet Shotsie, one of the dogs! This is the best reward there is for rescue work and we couldn’t be more delighted.
       However, a cat had been left behind as well. Last week we went back to the house and rescued the little bag of bones. I took her home and will foster her until I can find her a loving home.
       I named her Gracie, and it amazes me how loving she is despite her distrust of humans. I think her loneliness has taken priority over her fear, because in a week’s time she has become part of the family. She has not hissed or shown any aggression to my other animals. She has come out of hiding, eats at the community cat bowl, and is trying hard to make friends with everybody here.
       Our dogs know better than to chase cats in the house, but they want to sniff her and she lets them. She has jumped up on my lap as I work at my computer, and purrs robustly when stroked or brushed. She’s about two years old and very underweight. Of course I’m padding her wee frame, she loves canned food, and I’m growing fonder of her every day. Naturally she is not spayed but I’m working with Border Animal Rescue to make that happen soon. If BAR pays for the spay, there will be an adoption fee. I would be willing to let her go before that happens with a reliable guarantee that she will be immediately spayed.
______________________________________________________

Gracie, loving cat who needs a forever home in southern AZ

Gracie, lovable cat who needs home in southern Arizona

Gracie, little bag of bones who needs forever home in southern AZ

Sweetie pie Gracie, needs home in southern AZ

23 responses to “Foster Cat of the Week, Bisbee AZ

  1. Debra, your soft kind heart is showing through! I have a friend and co-worker who has many animals herself, but she also works with the local refuge league. Every single day she is over there walking them and being there for them. She takes fosters in constantly and especially those with what seems to be agression/other problems and sees how they do with her guys and gals. She has done so much good around here that I am amazed. I told her about you and now I am telling you about her. Soft hearts you both are even though that might now show through up front!

    • Thanks Char. I have been either extremely involved or indirectly involved with animal rescue all my life. When I get extremely involved, like your friend, meaning going to the pound every day, it’s a recipe for burnout. Then the guilt hits, so you can’t win. If and when my life circumstances improve then I will go back to fully involved, but right now I just can’t. But that doesn’t mean I can’t help when needed. It’s expensive, too—caring for all these animals is not cheap.

      I agree that fostering is important because cats and dogs need to be evaluated and socialized so you can be honest with the adopter. Sometimes it’s hopeless, that’s how we end up with double-digit packs!

      Thanks for writing Char, always appreciate your comments. You’re a softie yourself you know—and your friend is an angel! Please tell her thank you for all she does, from me.

  2. Is there any way under the sun, the moon or the planet Xenon that you could keep this wonderful creature who is SO happy in your home?

    • Ann I understand completely what you’re saying. I already have too many cats but the real reason I want to adopt her out is because she is what people want. I feel obligated to send her out to be a kitty ambassador, to show people how loving cats can be. I keep the misfits, I have no choice. I want her to get much more attention than I can give her, to be somebody’s sweetie which is what she deserves. Maybe some lonely person needs a friend and I will find a perfect fit out there somewhere.

  3. Indigo Spider

    She looks so sweet. If I lived closer I’d be over there in a heartbeat picking her up! I always say it is a good thing I have a lease that restricts the number of animals I can have because otherwise I would be loaded with animals of every type. My biggest dream is to own tons of acreage where I can have a sanctuary for animals, domesticated and others. It kills me when I hear these stories of big cats or bears being kept in tiny cages on some ranch in Texas, or elephants tormented at the circus, or whatever. I want to take them all and give them the life they deserve, not the tortured horrendous one we humans force on them. I volunteer with a rescue group that is working with feral cat colonies in the area and there are so many cats I could easily just swoop up and take care of, even if they are “mean”, they don’t all need to purr on my lap (although I don’t complain when they do).

    I love and hate these posts Debra! I love to see the animals being rescued, having someone love them, being treated better but I hate it because it breaks my heart they ever needed rescuing to begin with. Plus, for every one rescued there are probably dozens still hurting. I’m glad Gracie is in good hands now and I’m sure she will find a loving home soon.

  4. Thank you Indigo. I wish there were no strays, no asshole animal owners, no abuse or neglect. In a perfect world where everybody had jobs and our government didn’t send a billion dollars a day overseas to support oil wars, spaying and neutering would be free and kids would be taught in school to respect animals. We aren’t very civilized at all, and it’s bad here in Arizona. Right now I am trying to track down a free doghouse because my neighbor will not let his dog in the house, which is common here. It’s hard to love thy neighbor when they don’t consider animals to have souls.

  5. Indigo Spider

    Here in CT I was SHOCKED to find out it is $450 to spay! All my kitties are outta state babies so I’ve never paid that much but, even though that is an outrageous price, I would still pay it. There is no excuse. If you can’t afford it you shouldn’t own an animal.

    I also don’t understand the idea that dogs are just left outside 24/7. Why own an animal if you don’t consider them part of the family, a companion? That is what is so unfathomable to me. When I lived in FL it was so common to see a house with multiple dogs gasping in the heat and humidity without so much as a tree for shade. Then, they don’t even give them fresh water. When I asked why, why own an animal at all, they always say “Oh, I love my dogs.” Bullshit.

    Truly, beyond my comprehension.

  6. Well that’s just absurd to pay that. There are mobile vans that come around and do it much cheaper. When I lived there it was $50, now it’s probably more but nowhere near 450. I was friends with a mobile vet named John Caltabiano who started TEAM, Tait’s Every Animal Matters, with a bequest from a guy named Tait. Dr. Caltabiano died a few years ago but TEAM still roams the state. I urge people to use these low-cost alternatives. We have them here too. They are a lifesaver.

    Yup we have the same problem here with dogs left outside. I’m not allowed to talk about it or the Bisbee culture police will picket my house.

  7. I deeply admire people of character like you. That you can do what others forget about, or just don’t care about makes you truly remarkable. Our nation has a pet problem that seems to go unnoticed by most. Pets should not be considered a throw away article like McDonald’s packaging or a leftover candy wrapper.

    I’ve always had dog pals. I’ve always had them in pairs. And I’ve always committed to them as I would any other member of my family. They love me, I love them. We all take care of each other. Not that this makes me special, its just the way it should be.

    Thank you Debra. Thank you very much.

    • Hi Bill, it’s not just us, it’s worldwide. At least we have shelters, such as they are. Many places in the world are barbaric to animals, or consider them filthy, or think they are there to be abused. Most religions in the world do not teach respect for animals. It’s like they left that part out.

      Yes people don’t understand the lifetime commitment part. And that they are the best friends you’ll ever have.

      Thank you—and thank you to all rescue volunteers who dedicate their lives to animals in need.

  8. Gracie is a beautiful cat, and I hope she finds someone to love her. Thank you for all you do to help these pets who have no way of helping themselves.

  9. $450.00 to spay, huh. I must live on a different planet. Did I misunderstand ?

    I live rural-ish and see less and less people who have a dog chained outside or running loose 24/7. Though when you see it, it stands out an burns me to no end.

    • ‘Strays from Mexico’ and local attitude …..I can see why you might think you have come to wrong place.

      I had sheep at one time and had my hand forced as a result of a pack of dogs who were allowed to run amuck at night. Thankfully it was the only the time in twelve years, but that was enough. It was a sad night.

  10. It’s very common here on the border in AZ. And there are stray dogs and cats everywhere. I try to catch them sometimes but they usually won’t let anyone near them. If you call the county, they get three days then put down. So now I have a non-intervention policy. In Mexico I have heard they euthanize animals with water and electric shock. The strays in my neighborhood wander in from the south. Bisbee people are outraged when they are sometimes shot but do nothing to help except bitch about it. I would rather see them dead than suffering, and nothing’s quicker than a bullet. We’ve had to do it a few times to extremely damaged animals. I only do what I would want for myself. I’m beginning to think I’ve come to the wrong place.

  11. The vets who are charging $450 to spay a cat are out of touch with reality and not very animal friendly. I would go so far as to say they are greedy. This only discourages spaying and neutering and makes worse the pet population problem. This really makes my blood boil.

    I offered to help someones dog who needed stitches. The first vet wanted $560 for 8 stitches! Found another that did it for $75. The dog is fine, and the first vet that wanted $560 is out of her mind!

    • I hate to turn this wonderful post into vet talk. Hope you don’t mind Debra. With my recently departed spaniel, he was well taken care of by our local vet – the bills were never astronomical as been discussed. Though I must admit I got a lot of good advice and suggestions for natural remedies from the woman who gave him his haircuts. She often saw problems that a vet missed and suggested low cost remedies based on science and usually links to verify what she was suggesting. She definitely knew her shtufff as a result of raising Great Danes and training German Shepherds as well as learning everything from her mother, whose foot steps she followed. My point being there are knowledge people out there besides vets who give good advise if you befriend and listen.

      • Hudson I absolutely agree with you 100 freaking percent. Vets, though we desperately need them, often embrace cover-your-ass philosophies.

        An example of this is feeding dogs table scraps. No vet that I have ever known will condone this wonderful practice. My dogs, and most rescue dogs, have lived on garbage and spit off the sidewalk and we can’t give them some yummy leftovers off our plates? This is insane to me. Common sense must be used, obviously. But my hatred of waste and my dogs’ joy of scraps mixed in with their kibble is a union that couldn’t work out better for all of us. A chicken or cow dies to feed a human so we can shovel it into the garbage—when your dog thinks he died and went to heaven to get some nice fatty chunks in his bowl?

        I listen to experienced animal owners and rescuers because they’ve often seen it all. I can’t afford to run to the vet every time one of my dogs sneezes. My friend Janice’s advice to give them a Benadryl works beautifully. So absolutely, listen to sane and experienced animal lovers, and read read read. Good advice Hudson, thank you.

  12. Wild Bill, I don’t understand these high prices either. You did the right thing by shopping around. They’ll tell you it’s because of the cost of running the hospital and the high cost of insurance. But it sounds like greed to me to too.

    But there is help available for us poor folks if we do a little research. Border Animal Rescue here will help with vet bills, and the local humane society will help out with spays and neuters. There are other organizations that will contribute but you have to find them in your area. Don’t forget these organizations in your will.

    Hell I’ll stitch the dog myself for $560! And myself too for that matter!

    You’re a good person to help the people whose dog needed vet care. If I had money I would help every poor person in town with vet care for their animals.

  13. I am not a cat lover but Gracie does seem irresistible [ I also have a grand-daughter called Gracie ]. It’s interesting how you say that loneliness overcomes fear. You could write a story about that 🙂 well, in a sense you have.

  14. Hi JLeo,
    Aww, you’d like her if you met her! I love that name Gracie and it fits her.

    Now you’ve got me thinking about a real story with that theme. Thanks for writing.

  15. Me again, I’d love Gracie, but someone dumped two toms here with kitty aids and it ain’t safe. we live on a farm ,people leave animals all the time.Mydaughter ame bore one nite iin pouringOR rain, to find abitcg tied to a tree with 3pups at her side. Took her to be spayed, she was pregnant again!
    in Portland the poor boreddarlings gave up vandalism and shooting each other. now they are using the homeless for target practic

Leave a Reply

